Khaki Roses, a Quilted Pillow for non-quilters


I really like bright colors and I love combining them.  But sometimes a neutral steals my heart–like this Tan Roses Pillow,  hot off the sewing machine and just listed in my ETSY store–http://www.etsy.com/shop/kikisrewinddesigns

The tan and white rose fabric is a new find–circa 1970s, I think–from the big Alamance County Hospice Flea Market (final day tomorrow 8/11/2010), one of my favorite fabric hunting grounds.

Lots of  great 70s fabrics at the sale this year–from hip floral piques to a big medallion print in gray and the acid green that’s so popular now.  (I think I will make floor pillows)

But back to my floral pillow in tan and white.  Working with neutrals gives me a chance to really emphasis textures.

I appliqued the rose print on washed and dried burlap, then anchored it all to cotton duck with rows of diagonal stitches.  Call it a quilted pillow for non-quilters–I love the way the  rows of stitches make a cotton print look opulent.

Gimp finishes off the edges .  A tip–use four flat pieces and run them off the ends of the pillow top.  It is too bulky to turn neat corners. 

Another tip–pillows are easy, just 4 straight seams.  Make them easy to care  by  washing and drying all your fabrics first.  Then take the time to create a back opening so you can slip the pillow form out for cleaning. 

I used buttons here but velcro and zippers are also great options.   And while my pillow may be neutral, it looks great with bright colors like blue–Think khaki and Oxford cloth, the classic combination.

2 comments

    • More and more I am shopping in my own fabric store…the one I have arranged by color in the garage. And you are welcome to join me. The more old fabrics I use, the more I can buy. Collecting is great fun. Happy sewing.

Leave a Reply

