Sewing Mitered Corners (Simplifed)


Sewing books can be great teachers but I could never never make mitered corners work  until I put the books aside and figured it out on my own. 

Guess I’m just a tactile learner–

Here are instructions for the mitered tablecloth edge above.  They also work great on the bath and kitchen rugs I love to make from vintage and reclaimed fabrics. 

Vintage fabric kitchen rug with mitered corners by me (kikis rewind designs)

Note:  All seams are  1/2 inch–and never sew all the way to the end of a seam.  If you remember those rules, the corner comes together easliy.

  1. Cut bands of fabric 1 inch wider than finished size.   (I cut 5 inches in this case)
  2. Sew right side of band to wrong side of fabric BUT STOP stitching 1/2 inch from each end. 
  3. Trim seam and press to front.  (The ends will be open)
  4. Now working on the back again, bring raw edges to meet at an angle and press flat. 
  5. The pressed line is youe seam.  Sew it  STOPPING 1/2 inch from each end.  Press,  trim etc.   Flip the angle to front, and press again
  6. Turn under raw edge and stitch.  I continued with rows of channel stitching to give the tablecloth a finished look. 

Once you get the hang of it, it’s actually easier than a wrap-around corner.  The miter has less bulk, more polish and style.   Try these corners.  I think you’ll like the results.  Happy sewing.

2 comments

  1. This is just what I am trying to do, but I don’t see how to get from step 4 to 5. Please help. This is beautiful. I have found many, many tutorials on how to line the cloth completely – but I just want to add a 5″ border finished neatly on the bottom. Please explain. I want to “get the hang of it!” Thank you.

    • Glad you are trying mitered corners. They really do make a great finish–more than worth the trouble.
      What may be confusing you is that the photo shows the binging edges pressed flat to the table cloth back. Lift it away from the back to stich the binding free of the table cloth. Stitch the binding along the pressed lines, but stop stitching 1/2 inch from the raw edge. You’re going to turn it all the front and turn that 1/2 in under to hem it.

      So between step four and five you are only sewing the binding, sort of like a facing for the neck of a dress or shirt, only it comes to a point not curved like a facing.

      Let me know if this helps. Happy sewing! kiki

Leave a Reply

