4 Tips for Joining 2 Fabrics


Sure, my friend could sell her grandma’s mid-century tablecloths. She’d probably get from 16-35 dollars a piece.  But she’d rather have the memory of her grandmother in her kitchen–

So I’m combining several cloths to fit a (larger) modern  table.

I use parallel rows of stitching to anchor the pieces and a button-hole or applique stitch for the raw edges.  These tips make the job easier:

1) Fabric creeps and stretches so leave the edges for last.  For the straight stitching (also called channel stitching), I  using my presser foot as a guide and shift the needle position to give the widest row possible.

2) Even my straight stitching is never completely straight.  I  stop every 5-6 inches, measure and mark a truly straight row with pins.  It’s much less noticeable to re-align along the way, than get to end and find I’m an inch or more off.

3) When I pin, the rule is sharp to sharp.  That means the pin point goes in toward the needle.  It makes  pulling pins out as I sew much easier.

4) Finally, save ALL your scraps.  Little bits of mid-century tablecloths make great pockets,  patches, appliques, and pot holders.    They add lots of charm to projects like the gardener’s tool belt below.

Any other ideas for these classic textiles?  Please share.  And see more of my tool belt and other vintage fabric projects at  www.kikisrewinddesigns.com

Leave a Reply

