Fabric Samples become Beautiful Bird Ornaments


On my sewing table this week–the last of a flock of recycled fabric birds.

A bird in your Christmas tree brings good luck according to my mother-in-law.  So I’m always adding to my collection of bird ornaments. 

My latest designs are appliqued fabric birds made from discontinued decorator samples. 

First I made a pattern. 

Then I cut my bird from the embroidered fabric–letting the stitches determine the tail feathers. 

I cut a wing and appliqued  it to the body.  

Next I  used the same applique stitch to anchor my bird to a coordinating backing.   Don’t forget to leave an opening for stuffing. 

Stitch around twice, then trim and stuff lightly.  Close the opening with another around of applique stitching and your classy bird is ready to fly. 

Happy Holidays! And lots of good luck in the New Year.

Leave a Reply

