Donate what you Do!


Lucky me–I live in creative cul-de-sac.  One one side–a genius web designer.  On the other– a genius painter who  introduced me to the organization B.E.S.T.

The letters stand for Beautify Emerging Spaces Together.  And I think their work–turning old buildings and store fronts into works of art– is the ultimate in upcycling. 

An upcycler myself, I want to support them. 

So I put my labor where my mouth  is–donating  two Kiki’s Rewind Design pieces  to the  latest BEST  fund-raiser, Raleigh largest urban  mural.   

Here’s one of the pieces I donated to the cause.   This Mid-Century Coffee Pot Apron is built around great 50s kitchen fabric that came to me as unstitched curtains.  (I love it when I can finish a project someone started more than half a century ago.)

And I also donated one of my signature garden tool aprons which are designed for women  gardeners who really like to get dirty.   Love the hot colors and high-summer vegetables! 

The BEST kick off event is tomorrow night (July 27th).  Check it out. http://spyraleigh.com/july-27th-b-e-s-t-dillon-launch-party/

And keep looking for ways to support organizations and people who are using existing materials and spaces to make the world a more beautiful place.  That’s what upcycling is all about!

PS.  Find more of my vintage fabric creations at www.kikisrewinddesigns.com

Leave a Reply

