Reclaim a Vintage Coat with Cuffs


The calendar may say “Spring” but it’s cold and rainy in North Carolina on this April day–perfect weather for my favorite mid-thigh 1950s coat.

reclaimed_coatI loved the swing style, top stitching, big buttons and pockets the moment I saw this piece  hanging in  the vintage clothing store.  And it fit through the shoulders! Mine are large.relcaimes_collarBut women of the 50s and 60s tended to be petite.  Vintage sleeves are always way too short for me.cuff_2

So I added a self-lined cuff in brown fabric from my stash.  It matches the topstitching, and large original buttons perfectly. And my brown cuff covers a high-wear spot on the original coat–slightly frayed sleeve edges.cuff_1

Another stash fabric–a brown plaid becomes a thin bias strip between the two fabrics.  This little detail makes my add-on cuffs look a lot more polished. 

I think it would be a good technique for vintage children’s wear, too.  What do you think?

Leave a Reply

