Change a Room with Easy to Make Accent Pillows


I’ve made 100s of  accent (or throw) pillows over the years.  And of course, many of  my favorites have ended up in our own home.

My favorite floral pillows--a big rose and tiny  English flowers
My favorite floral pillows–a big rose and tiny English flowers
And I love this bedroom pillow made out of a vintage bed spread
And I love this bedroom pillow made out of a vintage bed spread

But change is good, especially in the fall when our focus shifts back indoors.  And pillow are  one of the easiest, most inexpensive ways to change a room.

Here are some fabrics I’m saving for this year’s living room pillow makeover.pillow_fabric

Since we have a dog, I’ll make sure my new pillows zip or button closed so I can  take them off for cleaning.

And here are some favorite hot-off-the-sewing-machine-pillows I’m listing in my Etsy store. https://www.etsy.com/shop/kikisrewinddesigns

Sail Away Pillow Pair
Sail Away Pillow Pair
Big Blooms in Deep Rose, Purple and Green
Big Blooms in Deep Rose, Purple and Green
Show your love with a "Sweet Pea Pillow"
Show your love with a “Sweet Pea Pillow”

If you’re in the mood for a fall makeover, check them all out at.  It only takes one cool accent pillow to change things up in a big way.

BTW, If you can sew a straight seam, you can make a pillow.  It’s the first project I teach in my beginning sewing classes.  Find a great piece of fabric and give it a whirl.    Here’s a  link to some instructions.  https://kikisrewinddesigns.wordpress.com/2013/05/14/get-creative-with-a-basic-pillow/

Leave a Reply

