An Upcycled Embroidery Project Celebrates the Handiwork of Women


emb_1There were no lazy ladies among my ancestors.  After the sturdy farm women who came before me cooked, cleaned, canned, and killed chickens, they sat down with their needlework, rocked and stitched away.

Painting with needle and thread  was their creative outlet, one of the few chances to “play” in their anything but frivolous lives.

So whenever I can, I love to celebrate the kind of work they enjoyed.emb_2

Take this colorful dresser scarf fragment.   I stitched it twice (across and diagonally) to heavy canvas.  Anchored this way, the fragile embroidery is not only stabilized,  it becomes the centerpiece of a hard-working  tool  apron for a modern hard-working woman.

A work in progress.  My super-sturdy tool aprons are top sellers
A work in progress. My super-sturdy tool aprons are top sellers

Canvas and denim construction–there’s nothing frail about this design.  And something beautiful will be on display again.

Plus–I think the good karma is transferred.  The original stitcher would be proud.

How do you celebrate hard-working women in your work?

Talk about hard working women--one of my husband's grandmothers cooked on a wood stove like the one on this 1950s kitchen towel.  (and he's still looking for yeast rolls as good as her's).
Talk about hard-working women–one of my husband’s grandmothers cooked on a wood stove like the one on this 1950s kitchen towel. (and he’s still looking for yeast rolls as good as her’s).
Leave a Reply

