Making Mock Box Corners ( And Other Loose Ends and Updates)


Covering box edge cushions can be challenging–trust me, I’ve made my share.   Seems they often come in groups of 3 or 6.

Lots of box cushions on this recent slipcover project.
Lots of box cushions on this recent slipcover project.

But the mock box corner is so easy I teach it to my Basic Sewing students at the Scrap Exchange in Durham.    This is the corner I like to use when I’m making quick and easy purses from awesome Scrap fabric samples.

Step 1:  Sew 3  sides of a rectangle together.  Make sure to PIVOT at the lower edges instead of sewing to the end of the fabric.  We’ll use that seam allowance later.  And yes, a fold can replace your bottom seam.  That’s what I did in the example.

Side seam and bottom fold.  Note how I've clipped the seam allowance and pressed the side seam(s) open
Side seam and bottom fold. Note how I’ve clipped the seam allowance and pressed the side seam(s) open

2:  Press all seam allowances OPEN.  If you’re using a fold like I am, you’ll need to clip the seam open.   Now channel your inner paper airplane maker and fold the side seams into the center of a point–think of the airplane’s  nose.

Side seam now looks like a paper airplane nose.
Side seam now looks like a paper airplane nose. Pins are marking the stitching line

4: Stitch across the point TWICE for strength.  Cut off excess then flip to the right side and there you have it–cool boxy shape or at least half of one.  So repeat on the other side.

Cutting off the excess fabric in the corner
Cutting off the excess fabric in the corner

 

Outside purse bottom
Outside purse bottom

Once you get the hang of mock box corners it’s easy to move from purses to pillows like this one pal Karen and I  sewed from two larger samples.  There’s a zipper in the back seam so she can take the cover off for cleaning.

Mock box corners made this bottom cushion super-easy
Mock box corners made this bottom cushion super-easy

In the loose end department– reader, cousin, and sewing pal Betsy requested a photo of the hidden deck in the slipcover at the top of this blog .  I’m so glad I scrimped fabric at every turn on that project.  In the end, it needed an extra 10 yards of piping which I was able to create from the yardage that didn’t end up in the deck.

Stretching my fabric with a hidden canvas deck
Stretching my fabric with a hidden canvas deck

And for niece and nephews BB&T, my transformed birthday tee.  New neckline, new bodice and sleeve length, even new side seams (many tee shirts don’t have them).  It’s a favorite and I always get compliments.  Woof Yall and thanks for remembering my b’day.  Scroll down on this earlier post if you want to see the BEFORE shot of my unisex shirt.

Dog lovers tee remade.  Note our puppy's back in lower right.  She hates the camera!
Dog lovers tee remade. Note our puppy’s back in lower right. She hates the camera!
One comment

Leave a Reply

