What’s on my Sewing Table–Vintage Polyester Project Update


Progress–poly2_purse

I’m happy at the way my 70s clutch and Christmas stocking are coming together.

poly2_stockpiece

Doubly happy because there’s a lot of polyester double-knit around, and since I’m on a personal mission to give new life to old fabrics,  I want to find ways to use this (rather difficult) textile.

poly@_stockingfin

Besides, the prints are so very retro they’re hard for a fabric collector to resist.   I snagged these (and more) last week at the Scrap Exchange in Durham.

poly2_quilt

Note that in both projects, I underlined the poly with a woven.  I used rows of stitches to hold the two layers together, but fusible interfacing would work also.   The underlining gives both projects more body and stability–a good thing since both are meant to hold things.  (Yes, Santa, I’ve been very good.)

poly2_stockfin2I’m considering this retro trim for the cuff of my stocking.  What do you think?

 

One comment

Leave a Reply

