Tool Aprons for Women who Work HARD


One of the best parts of making and selling my super-sturdy, upcycled tool aprons is that it puts me in contact with other hard-working women on a mission.

teacher_apronwide

In the last few years, I’ve made aprons for gardeners, teachers, painters, knitters, seamstresses, decorators, and midwives.

icm_fullxfull.29375277_f7l3df3ouf40888kcosw[1]

And then there was Vibrantkate, the English Girl Guides camp counselor, who needed one for tent building.  Kate, who became a mom this year, told me she now uses her apron for pegging the wash while holding  baby Tom.  (I bet he’ll have a fun childhood.)

icm_fullxfull.29375253_12xogm17g5lcckwkk4wg[1]

And  last week,  I  completed a project for Donna  a local practitioner of massage techniques that  help women with birth, pelvic and digestive problems.

better_pocket

Donna needed a special pocket for her massage oils.  She loaned me a bottle and I went to work on her apron modification, making an elastic topped canvas pocket which I sewed inside one of the larger pockets.

pocket_3

And here’s the final result!

donna

Success!  Another hard-working woman working in one of my tool aprons.    It makes me proud

If you want to know more about  Donna’s practice Seven Generations Massage and Birth in Cary NC,  go to www.massageandbirth.com

And for more information about my tool aprons and other reclaimed fabric creations, check out my Etsy shop: www.kikisrewinddesigns.etsy.com

 

Leave a Reply

