Remake Dated Counted Cross Stitch with Reverse Applique


cross_stitch1

Back in the 80s, “country” style counted cross stitch on linen was all the rage.

I completed 5 projects before tiring of counting  threads.  (Can you say “tedious”?)

Before long,  I had also tried of those limited pallet  “country” looking pieces.  Most ended up in a box under the bed.

Here’s how I decided to remake a pair of them, by literally  breaking out of the frame.

cross_stitchback

  • Pin needlework face down on an interesting piece of fabric.  Working from the back, sew around the piece.
  • Carefully separate the two layers, cut the top layer and trim (I use applique scissors) to the stitching.

cross_stitchcut

  • Working from the front, zig-zag around the raw edge TWICE.

cross_stitchframe

  • Next, the fun starts.  Embellish your fabric “frame” to your heart’s content.  First, I sewed rows around the needle work, using my presser foot as a guide.  Then I  cut it out.   I appliqued and channel quilted my piece onto a second fabric–cool tulips.  Next, I added vintage rick-rack and 70 trim.  Words are ok, too.  I like to use stencils and fabric pins.  (The jury is still out on adding words to this piece.)
  •  I bound the piece with bias strips of vintage mattress ticking.   It still looked a little too 80s country, so I zig-zaged some torn strips of metallic drapery material around the edge.
  • Finally,  I went crazy with plain old jute twine, zig-zaging it around the needlework and looping it at the top for my stick hanger.

cross_stitchwalldetail

And here’s the final result, reclaimed cross stitch hung on our living room wall–

cross_stitchwall

This technique would also work for any old unfinished or damaged embroidery or needle point.  Any other ideas for  reframing with reverse applique?

 

One comment

  1. Very interesting, I worked on the same pattern…I wonder if I ever finished it, I know I did not have it framed…will have to check on it. Your idea is a fresh approach and would be beautiful on one of your tote bags when you tire of it on your wall.

Leave a Reply

