An Easy Project for a Favorite Tee Shirt–Skip the Quilt Commitment and Make a Pillow


Tee shirt quilts are popular projects.   I see a lot of them at the monthly sewing meet-up I host at the Scrap Exchange in Durham (NC).

But like any quilt, these projects require weeks, even months (years??) of time.

Not for my style.

tee_1

Instead, here’s a vintage tee I’m turning into a quick and easy project–a dorm pillow for a musical, college-bound, young man.

I started with a simple idea: Tee front on pillow front, woven cloth back. But the old tee looked ratty. I decided to cut out the good parts.

Next I appliqued my tee art to a sturdy piece of cotton chambray (my pillow front). I did this by tacking it with quilting spray and pins, then sewing parallel lines of stitching.

tee_2

Using the presser foot as my seam guide keeps the stitching lines straight (enough).

The vintage yellow and blue metal zippers were an afterthought.  I liked the color and the industrial look they added.  Because these zippers were heavy, I added a canvas backing to my chambray for extra support.  Again, I used quilters spray to anchor the two layers and then stitched the zippers down.

tee_3

The stamped metal guitar pick is a fun touch.  It came from a local crafter who offers classes and is a great way to personalize.

Since it always works best if the fabrics you’re joining  are of equal weight, I underlined the pillow back with canvas, too.

tee_5

A real working zipper goes at the bottom.  Three more seams and I’m done.

giutar_2

What do you think?

How could you modify this approach and make it your own?

4 comments

Leave a Reply

